News‎ > ‎

NRCS Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP)

posted Sep 5, 2013, 7:13 AM by GSRC&D Administrator   [ updated Oct 24, 2013, 10:17 AM ]

*Application deadline for 2014 funding has been moved to
Dec. 20, 2013.

Introduction

The Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP) is the primary source of financial assistance (cost-sharing) for conservation practices on working lands. EQIP is a voluntary program that provides financial (cost-sharing) and technical assistance to agricultural producers through contracts up to a maximum term of ten years in length. These contracts provide financial assistance to help plan and implement conservation practices that address natural resource concerns and for opportunities to improve soil, water, plant, animal, air and related resources on agricultural land and non-industrial private forestland. In addition, a purpose of EQIP is to help producers meet Federal, State, Tribal and local environmental regulations.

Who Can Apply

Owners of land in agricultural or forest production or persons who are engaged in livestock, agricultural or forest production on eligible land and that have a natural resource concern on the land may participate in EQIP.

Cost-Share Available For:
Perimeter and Interior Fencing
Waterlines
Watering Tanks
Lanes
Pasture/Hay-planting and Interseeding
Managed Grazing*** 
Planning
Wells
Winter Waters
Stream Crossings
Windbreaks
* For a list of ALL eligible cost-share practices or more information go to www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/site/wi/home/

***Informational PDF on Grazing Practices attached on the bottom of this post.

 

NRCS Contacts (by county):

Wood County
Roy Diver
District Conservationist
(715) 423-3610
roy.diver@wi.usda.gov

 

Waupaca County
Lisa Neuenfeldt
District Conservationist
(715) 258-8380
lisa.neuenfeldt@wi.usda.gov

 

Portage County
Melissa Knipfel
District Conservationist
(715) 346-1325
melissa.knipfel@wi.usda.gov

 

Marathon County

Amy Neigum
District Conservationist
(715) 848-2330
amy.neigum@wi.usda.gov

 

 

 

Adams, Marquette and Waushara  County

Michelle Komiskey
District Conservationist
(608) 296-2815
Michelle.Komiskey@wi.usda.gov

 

Juneau County
Jon Field
District Conservationist
(608) 847-7221
Jon.Field@wi.usda.gov

 

Monroe County

Greg Wheeler
District Conservationist
(608) 269-8136
greg.wheeler@wi.usda.gov

Ċ
GSRC&D Administrator,
Oct 18, 2013, 7:14 AM
Comments